top of page

Feminine Fete

With some of my closest girlfriends traveling into town last month, I wanted to have a dinner party at my home. Summer evenings are the perfect time to host, and having a meal at home would break up the evening and give us a change of pace from our next stop! I wanted the flowers to be bright and fun, the meal to be easy and hearty, and the drinks light and cold! Here are some of the details of our "Feminine Fete"

I found a couple bunches of peonies at the grocery store (when I was picking up the tortellini), so I arranged a few of them in antique goblets I got from a thrift store a few years ago. My mom and I also bought a couple different herbs and I potted them in the rest of the goblets. Sage, Basil, and Thyme dotted the center of the table, and I had planned to use the herbs as a garnish of choice for our drinks, but, since we stuck to Rosé, the garnishes stayed planted in their individual spots for the duration of the evening :)

BREAK BREAD.

I wanted to have fresh bread at the table, but I didn't want to just set out a basket full of bread. I had some extra paper bags, so I typed out each name, ran the bags through the printer, folded down the tops, and used the bread bags as place cards!

Other than the guests, the best part of the table were the place settings. I was originally expecting nine at the table, so in a panic I called a local event rental company for some chairs and plates. Not only did the owner, Chris, help me out immensely, he paired the place settings with the most beautiful goblets, salad and dessert plates. All of his pieces were in pristine condition, visually stunning, and the perfect compliment to our evening. I am recommending him to ALL of my future clients, and on this blog as well :) you can find all of his beautifully curated, vintage, chic inventory HERE !

I used my former dining table, which belonged to my Aunt. It was the perfect size and could be easily assembled outside. I also brought a bench and two dining chairs out, as well as a few strands of lights attached to a tree in the backyard (easier said than done!) I grabbed a few candles and tea lights I have in my stock pile and I bought a gorgeous 90 inch linen runner from Etsy to add some texture and warmth to the table. I also snagged a set of napkins off Amazon ; which I absolutely LOVE and will be my new favorite go to napkins! I purchased a nice little tiramisu from the grocery store, which was served on these V+M Ellie Blossom Plates. I didn't snap a picture of those, but trust, they are just as chic in person! Having an outdoor affair does require a little more work, but it was a nice way to start our evening, and a great way to kick off the summer season!

Recent Posts
Get Social | Follow Us
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Facebook Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page