top of page

Mint To Be. Baby Shower Recap

Last week one of my dear friends contacted me, asking if I would like to help decorate and set up her baby shower this spring. Of course I immediately started looking up ideas, creating signs and templates for her favors and jumped right back into my Pinterest baby boards. I referred back to my favorite baby shower to date, my own! I also realized I hadn't shared the details of it on the site (I've been a little occupied since then).

So without further ado (and 8 months later) here are the deets on our precious Harper's celebration!

When I started planning, I initially wanted an outdoor, garden themed celebration. Our apartment had a beautiful outdoor terrace area, but with the unpredictable Pittsburgh weather, we decided to play it safe and bring the flowers indoor and save ourselves the stress! I bought a lot of cream and white roses and stock flowers and used them throughout the space. Mom hand painted our welcome sign and attached fresh flowers and greenery to set the tone of the celebration as our guests entered our home.

 

I utilized cream spray roses, and white garden roses to make a few small centerpieces on the cocktail tables. I also purchased a few small parasols here to add an outdoor feel to our "shower".

They were even prettier in person and I plan to re-use them in her playroom or her next bedroom (which is usually how I justify buying things for events or parties

Our beautiful cake created by Mediterra Bakehouse was the centerpiece of our feasting table. It was a naked two layer cake, adorned with a fresh garden rose, assorted greenery, and sprigs of lavender and alyssum . The cake was set atop the vintage hat box which was also used to hold our wedding cake at our reception!

I love this precious garland from BHLDN; it fit the theme perfectly and the letters are interchangeable enabling it to be used later to welcome Harper home from the hospital.


Our feasting table was packed with small bites and sweet treats for guests to enjoy. Inspired from my own cravings, with grab and go convenience, we ordered a few favorites from Market Street Grocery, along with a few dozen Earl Grey macaroons from the beloved Gaby et Jules Patisserie

(If you're ever in Pittsburgh, their Forbes Ave location houses some of the most beautiful pastries, check them out!)


I wish I could say these little bites of heaven were enjoyed by our guests, but I think I ate most of them before anyone arrived.

Our guests DID enjoy dozens of homemade cookies and desserts from my mother in law! She is known for her cookies and made all of our favorites to add to the table!



Rounding out our array of sweets, were custom cookies from Bella Christiez Because the celebration was also a gender reveal, the colors we chose were primarily mint and white, so they incorporated our color palette into adorable onesies and baby bottles! My friends and I have been using Bella Christiez for years, they always do great custom work. They even did the grooms cake for our wedding, along with custom medallions for our engagement party.




 

Draped on the wall were mint and cream newborn onesies attached to twine by mini wooden clothespins above the table, which our sweet little one would eventually wear upon her arrival!

 

Could you do me a favor....

For favors, coordinating with our garden theme, we bought mini herb pots, and finished them with a custom "Watch me grow with baby McKillop" tag, mint ribbon, and baby carriage.

The BIG Reveal!

Our baby shower also doubled as a gender reveal for our sweet bundle of joy. Having the party indoors limited what we could do to unveil if the baby was

a HE or SHE. Always up for a challenge, I wanted to find an unconventional way to announce the news! My mother made a banner with the child's name on it that we unrolled for our guests to see. We were so excited to know Miss HARPER would be meeting us in a few short months!

All of the design ideas came together making for a perfect afternoon celebrating with friends and family from near and far!

Images provided by: Kristy Lumsden Photography


Recent Posts
Get Social | Follow Us
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Facebook Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page