top of page

Adventure Awaits: Celebrating Baby Z

This past weekend, we kicked off another shower and wedding season, and what better place to do so than the Wild Blue Adventure Company in Fayetteville, WV. A few of the vendors mentioned to me how beautiful it was, but pictures don't even begin to do it justice! It is already adorned with amazing vintage planes and signs for your next event; You can take a private ride in the plane (more about this gorgeous place here) I can't say enough great things about it - I highly recommend!


Anyway, back to the shower.

The beautiful mommy-to-be had decided on an "Airplane/Travel" theme, purchasing these adorable invitations on etsy, which was the launch of all the airplane decor.

 

We took an afternoon and headed to Uptown Downtown to grab some vintage suitcases & globes, which I used as the anchor for the tables centerpieces.

We also found these vintage looking sheets of thick paper at the same store, which I cut in half and used as part of the centerpieces. I also used some travel themed 12x12 scrapbook paper I had on hand.

Ashley had the idea of doing a trail mix bar, but with limited space and lots of guests, we opted for mini trail mix bags which served as favors instead, I bought some sandwich bags. adorned them with some bakers twine, and printed off some cute custom labels. Happy Trails!

In addition to the fun Trail Mix sign, I created a few other travel themed signs and printed them on card stock for different tables.

Ashley's sweet family bought tons of supplies, irons, ironing boards, and set up a "onesie station" for guests to create custom onesies for the new little baby boy. It was a great activity/game alternative for everyone, and got the guests creative juices flowing. Now baby Zervos has something to wear and remember everyone by!


Flowers. I wanted to keep the flower arrangements pretty neutral and loose, I pre-ordered a couple bundles from the grocery store, and made 6 separate arrangements from them. I know I have mentioned it before, but unless you have a couple hours prior to your event (and you also don't mind smelling like eucalyptus all day) I wouldn't recommend DIY flowers.

I made an arrangement beforehand so I knew how long each one would take, and arrived at the venue almost 5 hours ahead so I would have enough time to do them, in addition to the other decorating! I also knew they would have an outdoor space where I could work and make a mess! I used a couple glass vases I had on hand, along with some sweet little vintage bud vases I bought from an antique store in Pittsburgh (Wexford General Store is to die for btw, so many good finds)

At least the weather was PERFECT while I was putting the flowers together, and I had a nice little view of a gorgeous runway.

I also asked my mom to make a few custom signs, one for entrance, which was perfectly accented by the time zone clocks, and another that read "Adventure Awaits" with a plane that matched her etsy plane cake topper.


The cake was made by a lady in Ashley's former neighborhood, and fit perfectly with the theme! It was a two tiered naked cake made of orange and almond , topped with the cutest wooden plane. I made a tiny little banner from card stock to add to the plane, which also used showers "Adventure" buzzword. I took some of the greenery I had set aside and added it to the cake to give it a warmer feel and tie it into the centerpieces.

I also added a few little onesies to the front of the cake table, which I used for my own shower last year!

The shower had such a great turnout, and Ashley was indeed, showered with lots of gifts and lots of love! There wasn't a cloud in the sky, and the food was all delicious! We were honored the Zervos family asked us to be a part of their day and we could add a little R+O to Baby Z's celebration!

Recent Posts
Get Social | Follow Us
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Facebook Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page